Sunday, 31 October 2010

gehenna now

our album gehenna now is now available. go to to listen to the album in its entirety and - if you fancy - download.

track listing as follows:

1. hollow hills of london
2. everybody gets elves
3. tectonic states
4. those three bones
5. heaven can wait
6. gehenna now
7. volo ergo sum
8. dunwich beach, september 2001 [a fragment]

all tracks by logos. alessa otto: everything. darren francis: everything else, and voice on hollow hills of london.

all tracks recorded at dfl studios, aylesbury, bucks, spring and summer 2010. cover design by darren francis, sun artwork by jason oliver. this album is dedicated to debb, there until the final cut x

Saturday, 30 October 2010

desert star 1

another new track, desert star 1 was created on 29th october 2010. you can hear it at our myspace music player.

now that myspace allows a maximum of 25 tracks on their music players, we've uploaded plenty of new tracks, including the entire of our gehenna now album and a few others that you'll never have heard before. we'll be loading more tracks over the next week too. go to to have a listen.

edit, 25th september 2012: this track appears on our shamania album under the name hypogirl.

Monday, 25 October 2010

23 seconds ov time

we're very pleased to announce that we have a track on the forthcoming compilation album 23 seconds ov time. full details here:

the track is a 23 second (yes, you did read that correctly) version of do you love? from our forthcoming second album, ascending a line in the sky to sothis. we'll be posting more details on that once gehenna now is released; we expect to have ascending a line in the sky to sothis out before too long. all tracks are recorded, we just need to finish mixing them.

Saturday, 23 October 2010


we finished mixing the gehenna now album two weeks back and we're currently finalising the artwork. release date is 31st october 2010. an apt date? of course.

we've done a new track tonight, deepblue2519. odd but interesting, we like it. fire in the mind indeed.

regarding darren francis' voice at the end of this track, df had originally intended to record something very different but these 'aside' comments were what we liked best about that recording and what we opted to use in the end. there may or may not be other things buried deep in the mix if you listen hard enough.... we'll bung it on one or another of our online profiles anon.

on that note, this last week we've re-jigged our myspace, facebook, and reverbnation playlists with new mixes of gehenna now tracks and other tracks. have a listen if you fancy.

Tuesday, 19 October 2010

sunday to tuesday [no one calls]

this new track was created on 15th october 2010, though in a sense it isn't new. it's a re-structured, re-worked and re-titled version of the track mutable, which was created on 27th july and 13th august. the track mutable itself no longer exists as such (although we do still have an mp3 and/or flac file of it somewhere). we think the new version is much better, but then we would.

Tuesday, 12 October 2010


we've just completed a new track, dreamer. we've worked on this track on and off over the last few days or so, with the bulk of the work on 11th and 12th october.

we've also finished mixing the gehenna now album. news on release date etc shortly.

Tuesday, 5 October 2010

gehenna now update

we've now finalised (honestly, this time....) the track listing for our gehenna now album, as follows:

1. hollow hills of london
2. everybody gets elves
3. tectonic states
4. those three bones
5. heaven can wait
6. gehenna now
7. volo ergo sum
8. dunwich beach, september 2001 [a fragment]

total running time is a little under 1 hour 20 minutes.

we need to do some final mixing/tweaking to a couple of the tracks, then it's done, at which point we'll post a link where you can listen to the whole album online and - should you desire - buy a copy. initially it'll be a digital release only (your choice of file format) but we'll make cd copies available before long too, for those who prefer a more tactile medium for their music.

Friday, 1 October 2010

the porpoise principle

new track. we did the first version of this back on 12th september 2010, and have re-crafted it tonight.

what is 'the porpoise principle' exactly, you may be wondering? wait and see once we stick the track online (as we said in our last post, once the album is done with we'll re-work all our online playlists). it amused us, anyway.

edit, 24th november 2010: we have now scrapped this track since most elements of it have been recycled for anhedoniac.

the porpoise principle was originally intended for our album ascending a line in the sky for sothis - and would have slotted between to please the moon and sun king. no matter; in anhedoniac it now has a home, albeit a rather different one and in rather different form to that originally intended. we do still have the original, however, and may bung it out at some point in future for your entertainment.

edit, 14th may 2011: in our finalising the ascending a line in the sky to sothis album mix, we put this track back in. we'd originally omitted it because including it made the album too long (we use the maximum 80 minutes guideline for the length of an album, i.e. how much would fit on a single cd) but since the final mix of the track sothis rising ended up much shorter than the preliminary version - less than a minute and a half compared to the eight and a half original - we could slot the porpoise principle back in where it belongs.